PDA

View Full Version : Hello, I am new to Atkins

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Luvjava40
Sat, Jan-22-05, 09:42
Hi My name is Lin and I am new to atkins - I have wanted to try it for some time. At first my Dr. told me I was Crazy and that my cholesterol and triglycerides would hit the roof! So that scared me away. Now I am hearing positive news about Atkins. So I decided to jump on the wagon.

I am married (20 years) have 2 teenagers and I am sick and tired of being FAT! I want to lose weight. I work part-time for a sports & recreation center. I have everything here for me. Yoga, aerobics, weight room, cardio room, a huge pool. I dont use the facilites as much as I should. some times Iwill drag my 14 yr old daughter with me to the gym 3 times in a week but then I don't come again for 2 weeks. I think I am embarassed. I mean I work with these people and It terrifies me at the thought of putting a swim suit on. (I mean it isn't like they can't see that I am fat). I think I feel naked in a bathing suit. (LOL) So I am trying the atkins and have promised myself to at least use the weight room and the cardio machines 3x's a week to start.
Anyone have any advice or yummy recipes? I love sugar and that is my biggest weakness. I will eat cookies or a candy bar rather than a meal. Lately I have forced myself to eat soup with crackers (carbs) then I crave sugar like you woldn't believe.

Goat Lady
Sat, Jan-22-05, 09:45
Hello and Welcome! Glad to have you aboard!

gandktahoe
Sat, Jan-22-05, 09:51
And congratulations on taking control of your life!