PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

wkirby
Thu, Jan-20-05, 13:38
Hey everyone,

I'll apologize in advance for how dry this is going to be, but i'm sure that most "introduction's" are - trust me, i'll be more lively in the future! :)

My name's Will and i'm a 21 year old Senior at the University of Georgia. I'm currently studying economics with plans to start Law School in the Fall. I am what I would consider quite healthy - around Christmas when I started low-carbing I weighed around 200 lbs, on a 5'11 athletic frame. Most of my life i've kept my weight well regulated, putting fat mostly only on my "belly" with just enough to keep the abs well hidden.

As most young males do, i've embarked on several attempts to get lean trying a host of exercise and diet plans all with some success, but ending with a couple of pints of Ben and Jerry's ice cream and me finding myself back at my pre-diet weight.

With my overall health excellent, body fat in acceptable range, I had become rather complacent with myself and saw no need to do anything other than maintain and just eat healthy foods and continue to put the time in the gym. This had become my status quo, but that all changed on Dec. 28th.

After severe abdominal pain, my father was admitted into the hospital where subsequent evaluation revealed that he had a tumor in his Colon. Considering I have yet to experience death or chronic illness in anyone truly close to me, this event brought my mortality and that of those who are close to me to the forefront. It made me realize that my previous status quo, while acceptable now, won't be at some point in the future.