PDA

View Full Version : Just starting out... a newbie here

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

talker384
Thu, Nov-04-04, 15:36
undefined :wave: Hi everyone! I'm Julie. I started lc-ing about five weeks ago after stumbling upon Dana Carpender's 500 Low-Carb Recipes cookbook at an Ollie's discount store. The recipes looked great. In short order, I checked out her lowcarbezine and a couple discussion lists. I was TOTALLY encouraged by all the Lowcarbers and their tips.

I have recently been diagnosed with Type II diabetes, high blood pressure and all kinds of related conditions. I decided to take matters in hand and get rid of a lot of this excess weight. I weighed 293 lbs. five weeks ago. Today I weigh 271. I've read Atkins, Sears, Heller & Heller and half a dozen other books on the subject. I'm thinking I might have to pick one and REALLY follow it as right now I am just kinda "wingin' it" which I don't think is the best plan.

At first, my kids, both of whom are also overweight, were resistant to the changes in our WOE. My daughter is willing to eat whatever I prepare but falls back into old habits if I fail to prepare specific meals. (I haven't yet TOTALLY de-carbed the basement freezer). My son was a pain in the padupa re: the meals until he started seeing my weightloss and increased energy. He has, in the last two weeks, becomes MUCH more cooperative and is now watching his carbs as well. He has dropped 6-7 lbs. I'm not sure what my girl has lost, if any, but I believe she has as well.