PDA

View Full Version : 1st week of induction, bad side effects!!!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

LissaNYC
Thu, Jun-17-04, 11:28
Hi, im a newbie. I was loving Atkins once the sugar cravings were gone, but then came the leg cramps and now for the past two-three days I've had really bad heart palpitations and fatigue. I didn't start taking my supplements until Tuesday night (didn't know I needed them).

Plus that day, I forgot to bring my snacks (celery sticks) and dinner to my 5 hour night class so I was pretty much starved by the time I ate. So, is it possible that my body went into starvation mode, and if so, how do I correct this?

If its not starvation, why the increase heart rate? Also, I bought "carb smart" by one-a-day and maybe that wasn't the best supplement.

Also, I feel really moody, is that normal?

I'm sorry I have so many questions...I appreciate any and all help because I am freaking out and about to go to the doctor if I don't get better soon.

Thanks in advance!!!

jagbender
Thu, Jun-17-04, 12:13
Your body is going through transition. That can be really rough. Supplement with potassium or lite salt for the cramps. Drink a gallon of water a day.
The fatigue should go away soon when you fully convert to a fat burner.
As for the heart paliptations. You might want to check with your DR.
A good multi vitamin is critical too.
Jag

LucyLucy
Thu, Jun-17-04, 12:25
I would suggest reading the book, and you definitely need vitamins, it's crucial................along with the whole foods, tons of water, etc.