PDA

View Full Version : New to forum

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Ghuldeen
Tue, May-25-04, 13:24
I thought I would just take a few moments to introduce myself and say hello to others on the low carb path.

I've been doing Atkins for a little over 6 months now. I started due to the discovery that I had become a type 2 diabetic at the age of 37 (blood sugar level measured 17.8) and being told I could either do something about it or wonder if I would hit 50. I didn't realise how terrible and sick I had really been feeling, until I made the change. I someone with a cold even looked at me I automatically got it. I was tired all the time despite getting 7-8 hours sleep per night. I was sweating all the time no matter what the temperature was (my doctor told me that my skin was trying to act as a 3rd kidney to help get rid of the excess). My blood pressure had skyrocketed to 138/98. My kidneys were under severe stress and my cholesterol was borderline.