PDA

View Full Version : New to the LC life

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

skinnbones
Wed, Apr-14-04, 06:07
Hi, I am new to LC life. My husband now says he is going to give up altogether and we had just started. I am so glad to have found this site. With a 16-year old daughter and now an “I give up” husband wanting the high carb stuff still around I can use any advice on how to survive.

Blulady
Wed, Apr-14-04, 08:01
Hi Skinnbones!

Welcome! There are many of us here who have a non LC family in the house. It can make this a bit harder, but you can do it!

I try to base meals around what I can eat (most of the time - if it doesn't work out, I cook myself something separate).

Start with a nice choice of meat, add salad and a carb friendly vegetable like cauliflower. Now at this stage, you have your meal ready - just add some potatoes/rice whatever for the others.

If you end up having to cook something different for yourself, so be it! You are worth the extra time and effort. I just keep telling myself "let them sit back and watch! I'm going to look great!'

Good luck and best wishes!

Pam

loserbaby
Wed, Apr-14-04, 08:24