PDA

View Full Version : Maintenance questions

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

deneen
Wed, Jan-28-04, 17:20
Hey all, :wiggle:

I've been doing Atkin's maintenance for the last several months (since reaching goal at 139). I dropped several more pounds (to 135) and have stayed at 135 consistently. I weighed myself yesterday and lo-and-behold! I am at 133. Perhaps the 135 was a plateau of sorts (I was that weight for a long time in high school/college).

Anyway, I was just wondering about those of the rest of you in maintenance. What have your experiences been? Have you been consistent? Some weight gain? More weight loss? Have you been having a hard time? Easy time? Thanks for your input!

~Kelly Deneen

Enomarb
Thu, Jan-29-04, 06:26
Hi Kelly-
I am also in maintenance, and am having a similar experience. I had stopped at 150, but as CALP is a life plan I have been staying on program but not trying to lose. Then after about a month I weighed in at 145. I think my body is finding it's own level, setpoint, whatever. (Dr. Schwartzbein says you will lose until your body is at the right weight for you.)
For me, this is really a life plan, and I am focused on eating this way for life.

Kathy54
Thu, Jan-29-04, 17:50
Hi I too am under goal and have been for several months now, with out trying to lose it. But this weight feels good, so I don't plan on regaining. I think what happens is you sometimes just don't eat enough to maintain a goal weight, with out realizing it. I think that is how I lost the extra anyhow. :>)

Kathy

wefrf
Fri, Jan-30-04, 15:38
Hi