PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else here doing this with their child?

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

jenniferpa
Fri, Aug-10-01, 18:49
Hi, I'm new to this low carb diet, but I fear this is going to be a long story. Although I would like to lose the extra 35lbs I'm carrying around (25 of which I put on in the last 6 months!) I'm really doing this for my 12 year old son, who, at 62" weighs 200 lbs (well actually 194 down 6 lbs since last week). Following a car accident and a diagnosis of Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy he put on 40lbs in 4 months. Obviously even before this he was too heavy, but all my doctor suggested was a diet and more exercise. Now this was a child who, until his accident was constantly on the go, who ate a "healthy" diet, yet from the age of 7 consistently put on weight far in excess of what would be expected. Anyway from sheer bloody mindedness I finally managed to persuade my doctor to refer him to an endocrinologist. The first round of blood tests showed that he had high levels of insulin (although suprisingly acceptable HDL and LDL levels). We're currently waiting for the results of a glucose tolerance test plus free cortisol. The endo sent us to a dietician although I explained that I already had him on a reduced calorie diet, as due to constant ongoing pain from the RSD he was unable to walk, which was borne out by the diet diary. After being on a standard diabetic weight loss diet (1600 cal/day) for 3 months he was the same weight as when he started (although an inch taller).