PDA

View Full Version : Hello :)

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

TeeLopez
Sun, Nov-09-03, 12:59
Hello, I'm a newbie.

I started South Beach Diet last Monday. I don't like to weigh myself because I get frustrated easily by fluctuations. I've been known to call it quits if I feel I've been working hard and then the scale says I've gained, or not lost. So I think it's best I don't get on too often. For some reason, measuring inches doesn't upset me as much. I have lost 3 inches.

I read the Dr. Phil book, (I know a lot of people think he's a bit of a dolt), but I needed to do that first. I needed to work out some of the "therapy" aspects of why I don't lose weight. Forgiving people who made fun of me as a child - and all that other hokey stuff.

Then I read the South Beach Diet, (although I see most everyone is on Atkins.) I am starting my second week of induction with no cheats! YAY ME! :) I have done Atkins before (just like every other diet on the planet), and it worked, but South Beach Diet just works better for me personally.

I am trying to view this as rehab. Just like people commit themselves to a hospital to get over heroin or cocaine - that is how I feel about carboyhdrates... I don't know what I'll do at the end of this next week when I can start adding things back in. The idea of it scares me.

I am a SAHM (Stay-at-home-mom), with a 5 yr old boy and a 2 yr old boy. They still have a full plastic pumpkin full of Halloween candy. I want to cry when I think about it.