PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here :)

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

RobinBeBe
Fri, Oct-24-03, 19:55
Hi all

I just started PP yesterday. This is my first time low-carbing. I have been on various programs in the past, mainly WW, and lately, Body for Life/Body Rx. This WOE is taking me a bit to get used to.....I am having a hard time mentally getting used to being able to eat more fat, and not automatically going for the low-fat version. Plus getting used to counting my carbs!!!

A couple of questions..... do you count breading on shrimp/chicken as carbs? The carb counter book I have lists all proteins with no carbs at all (it is the PP one). Yet in fitday they do. Do I count them, and why does the book not bother?

Do I really not need to worry about how many calories I eat? Yesterday, I ate 2500 calories, most of them from fat. My protein requirement is 90 a day, and I ate 125, and 34 carbs.

Thanks for your help!

Robin

LilaCotton
Fri, Oct-24-03, 22:48
Hi, Robin and welcome! :)

I don't know much about Protein Power, but what I'll say just comes from the general LCing methods.

Breading on shrimp, chicken, etc., is something you really want to watch. I have a box of that oh-so-healthy breaded Gorton's fish in my freezer (bought it the month before I started LCing) and I was absolutely appalled when I looked at the package and it had something like 24 carbs for two pieces! I don't have any idea how many carbs you're allowed, but I do know all of the LC plans try to focus on getting our carbs from whole foods (fresh veggies, salads, berries, nuts, etc.) rather than empty carbs, like vitamin-deficient breadings and things like that.