PDA

View Full Version : Hello All!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

BabsTLC
Tue, Sep-23-03, 11:51
Hi Everyone! Just a quick note to say hello and make myself known.

I have always been one of those people who could eat anything and everything and never gain weight. My sister warned me that it would end when I hit 30... I didn't listen! I just turned around one day and BAM! I was fat. Horrible realization... strange how it sneaks up on you like that. I have been hemming and hawing about losing weight for a few months now, and have managed not the GAIN anymore in that time, but I have not lost any. Some pictures that were taken over the summer have smacked me in the face and I have committed to knuckling down and just doing it.

I have researched many of the LC diets and I am pretty sure Atkins is for me. We're a bit tight on $$ at the moment though, so I have a copy on order from the library. I have not read it yet, just been researching. The others seem a bit too lenient and/or complicated for me... I'm pretty sure I'd lose control if I was allowed any starches at all.

I think I have what it takes to make it... I don't have much of a sweet tooth, so desserts won't be a problem to give up... and I already drink more than the req'd amount of water daily so that will be easy too. The hardest thing for me will be giving up my starches. I am a serious pasta/potato/bread addict. Bigtime comfort food, and always has been. I'm going to miss my friday night ciders too.

I already walk my youngest daughter to school and back everyday, and I plan to add some extra distance to that over the next few weeks, and then add in some swimming and weights after that.