PDA

View Full Version : new member

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

valkyrie9
Wed, Jun-25-03, 16:15
hi. i'm new to the boards and thought i'd say hello. i've been reading through a lot of the threads and they're all pretty helpful. i'm new to low-carbing and i'm doing atkins. just started induction a week ago. so far so good but i worry i'm eating too much/too little, or the worng foods, etc. i'm still stuck in that non-fat/low-cal mentality i think.

i've been good at avoiding temptation, but i have a bbq/party this friday that is basically going to be a huge drunken bacchinale. i'm wondering if i'll even be able to eat anything there. i can't do the bunless burger; it's just too gross and messy for me. i'm wondering about the alcohol too. the rules say no alcohol on induction, so i know i shouldn't, but it can be tempting.

anyway, just wanted to say hello.

erina

Tex04
Wed, Jun-25-03, 20:39
Hi and welcome! I have not been here long either but I have picked up lots of tips and advise from reading.

Drinking is a big temptation, especially as college students. I have stayed away from it almost completely. The one night I did drink I had a vodka which is low carb. However those mixed drinks can really have sugar in em!! Diet Coke and Vanilla Vodka is one of my all time favs, so when I am going to splurge a little at least its not a full blown carb fest.

Good luck at the BBQ!

valkyrie9
Thu, Jun-26-03, 09:39