PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with Questions

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Tillie
Sun, Apr-27-03, 09:26
Hi...I am just getting started on Protein Power and I'm wondering a couple of things.

#1 Is there anywhere in the Book (I couldn't find it) Where they make a suggestion as to how many calories you should be taking in daily?

#2 Also, I have read Sandra Cabots book and she recommends several supplements, can i do those with the protein power as well (Flaxseed Oil, Milk Thistle, Chromium...etc....

TY

Tillie

Kristine
Sun, Apr-27-03, 17:45
Hello! :wave:

1) Not that I can remember. It's best to go with the number of carbs and protein that they recommend, and use enough fat to be satisfied. Personally, I think it's more important to regulate your appetite and learn to listen to your body's signals than it is to calorie count and possibly limit yourself. If that doesn't work, you can tweak in the future. In the meantime, it might help you to keep track on www.fitday.com .

2) It's not a bad idea. :thup: Chromium and flaxseed are recommended by the Eadeses, so I don't see why not. I don't know if the milk thistle is necessary, though, unless you have a compelling reason to protect your liver.

HTH! :sunny:

acohn
Thu, May-01-03, 14:50
I think that the Eadeses have reversed themselves on flax seed oil, and recommend against it, until your are farther along towards your goals. In its place, i'm pretty sure that they recommend cod liver oil, which contains the EPA and DHA that the body actually uses.

bellaluna
Fri, May-02-03, 15:50
Why have they recommended against flax oil? :confused:

Elihnig
Fri, May-02-03, 18:20