Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > General Low-Carb
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Mon, Feb-22-10, 22:19

Plan: Whole 30 / IF
Stats: 195/175/140 Female 5'4"
BF:
Progress: 36%
Default VLC sleep issues

I've been LCing off and on for many years. I use to always feel better when I was at a VLC level but in the last year that hasn't been the case. If I keep my carbs low enough to go into ketosis I sleep horrible! Night after night, week after week I'm awake from 2 am to 6 am. Nothing I do seems to help me get back to sleep before 6:00. Luckily I have the kind of job that allows me to start my day at 9:00 am but I feel like it's such a waste of time to be sleeping the morning away. And if I get up at 6:00 I'm totally tired the whole day. If I have some carbs in the evening, an apple, grapefruit or a handful of raisins I sleep fine. But I really think the extra carbs are slowing my weight lose. Arg. I'm getting frustrated. I've tried VLC and giving up all caffeine but I still can't sleep. Presently I don't drink coffee but I do drink iced tea with lunch but never after 3:00 pm. Does anyone know a cure for ketogenic insomnia?
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Tue, Feb-23-10, 02:28

Plan: Primal/Paleo/MyOwn
Stats: 187.5/168/132 Female 5' 5"
BF:
Progress: 35%