Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone


Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > Paleolithic & Neanderthin
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #91   ^
Old Tue, Apr-01-08, 13:06
anita45 anita45 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 273
 
Plan: atkins
Stats: 134/114.4/100 Female 152cm
BF:
Progress: 58%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nancy LC
A bunch of us GF folks emailed Lindt and they basically told us their stuff isn't gluten free. I was pissed because the stuff I had been eating had no gluten ingredients on the label, so they're either wrong and it is gluten free or else they're lying on their labels.



Maybe it's a case of them making the chocolate on the same line that products containing gluten are produced rather than it having it in the ingredients? That or they're just trying to cover their backs - but then you would have thought it'd be on the label...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #92   ^
Old Tue, Apr-01-08, 20:11
waywardsis's Avatar
waywardsis waywardsis is offline
Dazilous
Posts: 2,657
 
Plan: NeanderkIF
Stats: 140/114/110 Female 5 feet 2 inches
BF:
Progress: 87%
Location: Toronto, ON
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nancy LC
A bunch of us GF folks emailed Lindt and they basically told us their stuff isn't gluten free. I was pissed because the stuff I had been eating had no gluten ingredients on the label, so they're either wrong and it is gluten free or else they're lying on their labels.


There's nothing on the labels here in Canada either. I am so upset about this. How dare they? I am seriously speechless. I wouldn't have even thought to email them about this. Now I know better. There is no mention of barley malt or anything remotely gluteney on the labels at all, those bastards. (I am really, really upset)

ETA: Apparently their bars sold in Switzerland are gluten-free? I'm emailing, now that I finally found the addy. I had some Lindt 70% on the weekend, and was wondering why I've felt extremely tired and run down, and I just had D this evening and couldn't figure out why. Sorry if I'm threadjacking here but I am so, so pissed.

Last edited by waywardsis : Tue, Apr-01-08 at 20:33.
Reply With Quote
  #93   ^
Old Tue, Apr-01-08, 21:36
Nancy LC's Avatar
Nancy LC Nancy LC is offline
Experimenter
Posts: 45,211
 
Plan: Paleo 99.5%
Stats: 210/170/160 Female 67.5"
BF:
Progress: 80%
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anita45
Maybe it's a case of them making the chocolate on the same line that products containing gluten are produced rather than it having it in the ingredients? That or they're just trying to cover their backs - but then you would have thought it'd be on the label...

They said something about using barley or wheat malt to sweeten things. But it isn't listed on the dark chocolate bars.
Reply With Quote
  #94   ^
Old Wed, Apr-02-08, 01:59
anita45 anita45 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 273
 
Plan: atkins
Stats: 134/114.4/100 Female 152cm
BF:
Progress: 58%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nancy LC
They said something about using barley or wheat malt to sweeten things. But it isn't listed on the dark chocolate bars.



Erm - if that's true, isn't it really dodgy as surely they have to list it in the ingredients by law?
Reply With Quote
  #95   ^
Old Wed, Apr-02-08, 09:01
frankly's Avatar
frankly frankly is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 1,259
 
Plan: VLC
Stats: 295/220/160 Male 5'10"
BF:
Progress: 56%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anita45
Erm - if that's true, isn't it really dodgy as surely they have to list it in the ingredients by law?


I don't know how they get away with not listing an ingredient like BME in Canada, though there are funny exceptions on some "candies", alcoholic bevs, etc. Nevertheless, like NancyLC was saying, I just found this on on another forum:

"Thank you for your response. Our products are not Gluten free because we use Barley Malt in all of our cocoa for the chocolate. We need our malt in a certain form and broken down using a specific process to adhere to the Lindt’s recipe guidelines. Due to the availability of malt under these standards, Barley Malt is currently our only option.

Our white chocolate products by nature do not contain Malt Barley and are therefore, Gluten free. However, because they are run on the same lines as our other products, there is a chance for cross contamination.

Lindt is aware of the growing awareness of Celiac Disease and other conditions. We are sensitive to the fact that these large groups of consumers are unable to enjoy our chocolate at this time. We hope in the future to be able to accommodate the needs of all our consumers and offer options to satisfy varying dietary requirements.

I have also included the nutritional facts for our 70% and semisweet (bittersweet) bar. They do not have milk in them, however, they are manufactured on the same lines as products that do and may contain cross-contamination traces.

Lindt does not have products suitable for “lactose intolerant people”.

Some of our products do not contain milk in the recipe, but because we use the same manufacturing installations for all of our products, cross contamination can occur.

As a rule, dark chocolate does not contain milk. Concerning milk allergies, where the milk protein is the antigen, we have to tell the customers that dark chocolate could contain traces of milk, because of cross contamination. The “may contain “wording informs the customer of the possibility that the product may contain traces of milk.

Please let me know if you have any further questions. I may be contacted via email or at the phone number below.

Kind Regards,

Liz Lindahl

Consumer Affairs Specialist

603-778-3498
"
Reply With Quote
  #96   ^
Old Wed, Apr-02-08, 10:10
Nancy LC's Avatar
Nancy LC Nancy LC is offline
Experimenter
Posts: 45,211
 
Plan: Paleo 99.5%
Stats: 210/170/160 Female 67.5"
BF:
Progress: 80%
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anita45
Erm - if that's true, isn't it really dodgy as surely they have to list it in the ingredients by law?

That's what I asked them, I didn't get an answer back. I'll dig up that thread and you can read yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #97   ^
Old Wed, Apr-02-08, 10:12
Nancy LC's Avatar
Nancy LC Nancy LC is offline
Experimenter
Posts: 45,211
 
Plan: Paleo 99.5%
Stats: 210/170/160 Female 67.5"
BF:
Progress: 80%
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

Ah here is something new: http://www.glutenfreeandbeyond.org/...1276&highlight=

Quote:
Thank you for your response. Our products are not Gluten free because we use Barley Malt in all of our cocoa for the chocolate. We need our malt in a certain form and broken down using a specific process to adhere to the Lindt’s recipe guidelines. Due to the availability of malt under these standards, Barley Malt is currently our only option.

Our white chocolate products by nature do not contain Malt Barley and are therefore, Gluten free. However, because they are run on the same lines as our other products, there is a chance for cross contamination.

Lindt is aware of the growing awareness of Celiac Disease and other conditions. We are sensitive to the fact that these large groups of consumers are unable to enjoy our chocolate at this time. We hope in the future to be able to accommodate the needs of all our consumers and offer options to satisfy varying dietary requirements.

I have also included the nutritional facts for our 70% and semisweet (bittersweet) bar. They do not have milk in them, however, they are manufactured on the same lines as products that do and may contain cross-contamination traces.

Lindt does not have products suitable for “lactose intolerant people”.

Some of our products do not contain milk in the recipe, but because we use the same manufacturing installations for all of our products, cross contamination can occur.

As a rule, dark chocolate does not contain milk. Concerning milk allergies, where the milk protein is the antigen, we have to tell the customers that dark chocolate could contain traces of milk, because of cross contamination. The “may contain “wording informs the customer of the possibility that the product may contain traces of milk.

Please let me know if you have any further questions. I may be contacted via email or at the phone number below.

Kind Regards,

Liz Lindahl

Consumer Affairs Specialist

603-778-3498


And here's the initial contact:
http://www.glutenfreeandbeyond.org/...highlight=lindt

When I specifically asked about why barley malt, or even malt, wasn't listed on the label I didn't get a reply. It was like they were too scared to respond to that question.
Reply With Quote
  #98   ^
Old Wed, Apr-02-08, 12:14
anita45 anita45 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 273
 
Plan: atkins
Stats: 134/114.4/100 Female 152cm
BF:
Progress: 58%
Default

Wow that is truly dodgy... I've always been too scared to try the stuff mainly because of my nut and dairy allergy though.

I was doing some research for my biology coursework which was on casein coagulation and came across something (admittedly on Wikipedia) that stated that below a certain percentage, they can claim that a product is dairy free (can't remember what it was, I think 5-2.5%... probably lower actually but still enough to cause problems). As someone with a severe dairy allergy that seems insane to me - even my tutor was astounded.

I can't find the page it was on though... poo.
Reply With Quote
  #99   ^
Old Tue, Apr-08-08, 17:52
waywardsis's Avatar
waywardsis waywardsis is offline
Dazilous
Posts: 2,657
 
Plan: NeanderkIF
Stats: 140/114/110 Female 5 feet 2 inches
BF:
Progress: 87%
Location: Toronto, ON
Default

I emailed them, and they sent me a chart regarding their Excellence products - apparently all gluten free, in that they don't use any gluten ingredients, but they can't guarantee that they don't contain any. From their ingredients table:

Quote:
AUGUST 2005 - This table is indicated according to the directive 2000/13/CE, IMPORTANT "Non" means that the ingredient is not used in the recipe. We must however consider the possibility of its fortuitous presence, even with the state of traces. From where our messages "Can contain traces of,,," on the labels. Lindt & Sprüngli S.A. reserve the right to modify the receipes of its chocolates, without notice. The list of the ingredients on the labelling of the chocolate remains the reference to be consulted, if necessary, to question us as for the possible presence of other allergens. However, we cannot, a priori, guarantee their absence.


That is some bad, bad English. Drives me crazy, as a writer. Anyway. The rest of the email:
Quote:
Dear Ms. Bradley:

Following your request, we have pleasure to inform you below about the content of gluten, cereal and malt of the chocolates actually produced by our factory. Also please find below the product information table for our Excellence Dark chocolate.

1. MEDICAL COMPETENCE
Our Company satisfies, of course, the general obligations of food safety. However, we do not have the right to give information concerning human health. This must remain the domain of the medical profession.

2. GENERAL INFORMATION
Within the context of the ISO 9001 certification, our products are only commercialised after have been subjected to rigorous physical, chemical, microbiological and taste controls.

We must however take into account every eventuality when consumer health is concerned, including those suffering from allergies. For these reasons, we inform you of the following situation:

· Raw materials of agricultural origin present, naturally, variations in their composition of which our knowledge is imperfect
· One must, equally, be aware of the phenomenon of crossed allergies which can occur when a person becomes sensitive to a food allergen, after having reacted to a similar protein

· In spite of our Quality Assurance and traceability, the industrial organisation of our factories does not allow us to satisfy the demands of specific alimentary diets.

The risk of alimentary allergies exist, in particular for the following ingredients:
· Arachide (peanuts)

· Hazelnuts

· Almonds

· Milk

· Soya lecithin


To improve food security for people with allergies, we have decided to reinforce consumer information.
Two cases are possible:

(a) The ingredient is systematically necessary in the elaboration of the chocolate. It is indicated in the ingredient list, visible on the packaging

(b) The ingredient is not used in the recipe. We must however consider the possibility of its fortuitous presence, even as traces, due to the multiplicity of our productions. Hence our messages « Can contain traces of peanuts, etc. » on the labelling.


This has to be the weirdest response to a gluten query I've ever received. And this was from the Canadian office. I've emailed her back to clarify some things and ask if the recipes are different in Canada vs the U.S. Regardless, I don;t think I'll bother using Lindt anymore - Cocoa Camino is a tasty option, and gluten-free. Green & Black too, I think?

Last edited by waywardsis : Tue, Apr-08-08 at 18:05.
Reply With Quote
  #100   ^
Old Tue, Apr-08-08, 18:47
~centa*of*'s Avatar
~centa*of* ~centa*of* is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 143
 
Plan: Seven Deadly Sins (Paleo)
Stats: 155/110/110 Female 166cm
BF:
Progress: 100%
Location: Australia
Default

I'd like to know why they say "may contain traces of nuts or dairy" on our packets in Aus, but not a mention of gluten....
Reply With Quote
  #101   ^
Old Fri, Apr-11-08, 06:54
waywardsis's Avatar
waywardsis waywardsis is offline
Dazilous
Posts: 2,657
 
Plan: NeanderkIF
Stats: 140/114/110 Female 5 feet 2 inches
BF:
Progress: 87%
Location: Toronto, ON
Default

Recipe time! I made a small batch of these just winging it, and they're awesome. This made me 3 good-sized muffins so if you want more, double up on ingredients. I am going on memory here so hope I didn't leave anything out.

Banilla Nut Muffins

1/2 c almond flour
1/2 c hazelnut flour
2 extra large eggs
veggie gum thickener - about a tbsp (used Not/Sugar)
1/2 t liquid stevia (may use a tad less next time)
1/2 vanilla extract
1/2 banana extract
1 T hazelnut butter (roughly)
1 T sunflower seed butter (roughly)
1 T butter, soft/melted (roughly)

Mix together and bung into muffin tin. I filled the cups to almost overflowing, and they rose pretty nicely, if a tad oddly shaped.
Reply With Quote
  #102   ^
Old Fri, Jun-20-08, 18:35
lcstudent's Avatar
lcstudent lcstudent is offline
LCing for health!
Posts: 423
 
Plan: GF whole foods
Stats: 160/140/140 Female 5'11"
BF:
Progress: 100%
Location: NC
Default

Photos at my blog!



Just leave off the cream cheese icing and use the orange glaze if you don't do dairy. You could sweeten the cupcakes with honey if you're into that, but I prefer erythritol (from non-GMO corn) because it has zero cals and carbs.

Healthy Creamsicle Cupcakes
adapted from this recipe by Martha Rose Shulman

Makes 20 cupcakes


Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups almond meal, ground fine
6 eggs
sugar substitute, to taste
-1 cup erythritol
-1/2-1/4 teaspoon pure stevia extract (I use NuNaturals)

4 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 medium thin-skinned organic oranges (yielding 1 1/4 cups fruit puree)
1 1/2 teaspoons aluminum-free baking powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Preparation:
Wash orange well and boil for 20 minutes in a microwave safe dish with a cover until fork tender. Wait until orange is cooled, then slice it into sections and remove seeds. Puree in food processor until smooth. Measure out 1 and 1/4 cups of the puree and reserve the rest for a glaze to go with the cream cheese icing.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

Beat eggs and sugar substitute until batter is thick and golden. Beat in vanilla extract. Stir in fruit puree, almond meal, baking powder, and sea salt. Pour into buttered silicone muffin cups (filled at least 3/4 way full) or bundt pan and bake for 40 minutes or until slightly browned. Test with a toothpick for doneness.
Reply With Quote
  #103   ^
Old Fri, Jun-20-08, 21:04
selfmyth's Avatar
selfmyth selfmyth is offline
New Member
Posts: 21
 
Plan: Paleo(mostly)
Stats: 205/173/165 Male 73 in
BF:28/17/13 approx
Progress: 80%
Default

Those look great, making em soon. I love your blog, the photos are so nice, its like the food is jumping through the screen
Reply With Quote
  #104   ^
Old Fri, Jun-20-08, 21:30
kallyn's Avatar
kallyn kallyn is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 1,998
 
Plan: life without bread
Stats: 150/130/130 Female 5 feet 7 inches
BF:
Progress: 100%
Location: Pennsylvania
Default

The muffins look pretty much awesome. I'm worried about the number of eggs though. I make some almond flour muffins and they only use 2 eggs. Does using 6 make it taste eggy? Also it seems like a lot of vanilla. Is the measurement for vanilla extract (like the alcohol kind) or is it that vanilla flavoring for baking that is way cheaper but you have to use more of it?
Reply With Quote
  #105   ^
Old Fri, Jun-20-08, 23:01
lcstudent's Avatar
lcstudent lcstudent is offline
LCing for health!
Posts: 423
 
Plan: GF whole foods
Stats: 160/140/140 Female 5'11"
BF:
Progress: 100%
Location: NC
Default

Thanks, selfmyth! Lemme know how you like them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kallyn
The muffins look pretty much awesome. I'm worried about the number of eggs though. I make some almond flour muffins and they only use 2 eggs. Does using 6 make it taste eggy? Also it seems like a lot of vanilla. Is the measurement for vanilla extract (like the alcohol kind) or is it that vanilla flavoring for baking that is way cheaper but you have to use more of it?

It does not taste eggy at all with the erythritol in there acting like sugar. And the orange flavor kind of dominates. I used 2 teaspoons Williams Sonoma vanilla bean extract for a half recipe of the cupcakes, so I'm assuming four teaspoons for the whole recipe would be correct. They did not taste too vanilla-y at all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19.


Copyright © 2000-2017 Active Low-Carber Forums @ forum.lowcarber.org
Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.