Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone


Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Our Website > My P.L.A.N. Tool Support Forum
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31   ^
Old Thu, Jan-20-05, 21:42
diemde's Avatar
diemde diemde is offline
Posts: 7,547
 
Plan: lower carb
Stats: 333/199.8/172 Female 5'8"
BF:??/39.0/25
Progress: 83%
Location: Central Ohio
Default

Wa'il, On the Update Stats screen, can you add an entry for %BF? I use a body fat monitor, so don't measure.

I'm not sure if other folks would use this report suggestion or not, but I actually log %BF, Lean Mass in lbs and Fat Mass in lbs. The BF monitor shows FM, but I have to calculate LM. Having a tracking report for that would be nice.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #32   ^
Old Fri, Jan-21-05, 06:35
tamarian's Avatar
tamarian tamarian is offline
Forum Founder
Posts: 19,506
 
Plan: Atkins/PP/BFL
Stats: 400/223/200 Male 5 ft 11
BF:37%/17%/12%
Progress: 89%
Location: Ottawa, ON
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosebud
Wa'il, I entered a new recipe tonight, and found it a bit clumsy to have to go to food lists before adding it to favourites.
Would it be possible for new recipes to be added to favourites on the same page?


It will now add recipes to favourites when a recipe is created.
Quote:
I'm finding the servings options in New Custom foods a bit clumsy, too. I wanted to add a food with 100g as default, and then wasn't sure what to put in the Serving name and Serving Amount boxes. It won't let me leave them blank, yet I couldn't see a need for anything there. (Hope that makes sense.)


This sounds like a bug. A serving name should only be needed if it's not default, 100 grams.

Wa'il
Reply With Quote
  #33   ^
Old Fri, Jan-21-05, 06:36
tamarian's Avatar
tamarian tamarian is offline
Forum Founder
Posts: 19,506
 
Plan: Atkins/PP/BFL
Stats: 400/223/200 Male 5 ft 11
BF:37%/17%/12%
Progress: 89%
Location: Ottawa, ON
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diemde
Wa'il, On the Update Stats screen, can you add an entry for %BF? I use a body fat monitor, so don't measure.

I'm not sure if other folks would use this report suggestion or not, but I actually log %BF, Lean Mass in lbs and Fat Mass in lbs. The BF monitor shows FM, but I have to calculate LM. Having a tracking report for that would be nice.


Yes, it should allow BF entries, if someone already have the numbers.

Wa'il
Reply With Quote
  #34   ^
Old Fri, Jan-21-05, 15:24
Rosebud's Avatar
Rosebud Rosebud is offline
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23,489
 
Plan: Atkins
Stats: 235/135/135 Female 5'4
BF:
Progress: 100%
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamarian
It will now add recipes to favourites when a recipe is created.

Thank you!

Roz
Reply With Quote
  #35   ^
Old Fri, Jan-21-05, 17:26
diemde's Avatar
diemde diemde is offline
Posts: 7,547
 
Plan: lower carb
Stats: 333/199.8/172 Female 5'8"
BF:??/39.0/25
Progress: 83%
Location: Central Ohio
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamarian
Yes, it should allow BF entries, if someone already have the numbers.

Wa'il

Where do you enter it?
Reply With Quote
  #36   ^
Old Fri, Jan-21-05, 17:42
tamarian's Avatar
tamarian tamarian is offline
Forum Founder
Posts: 19,506
 
Plan: Atkins/PP/BFL
Stats: 400/223/200 Male 5 ft 11
BF:37%/17%/12%
Progress: 89%
Location: Ottawa, ON
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diemde
Where do you enter it?


I meant in the future, as a to-do item I think it should accept entries from the same page where the chart is shown.

Wa'il
Reply With Quote
  #37   ^
Old Sun, Jan-23-05, 11:52
bigted's Avatar
bigted bigted is offline
Beach Bum
Posts: 1,189
 
Plan: da Beach looking for Sun
Stats: 250/229.5/163 Female 5ft 5in
BF:not/ahot/clue
Progress: 24%
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Default

Hi Wa'il,

This is a cool tool and I like it. It's going to take some time entering my custom stuff but so far I like it.
I have a suggestion...is there anyway you can list the net carbs (as in Carbs minus Fibre) as that's my beef with fitday that I need to work that one out. I realize it's not hard math but I'm mathematically inept and it would be a big plus for me not to have to work that one out.
My apologies if it is already there and I missed it.

Thanks,

Steph
Reply With Quote
  #38   ^
Old Sun, Jan-23-05, 12:09
tamarian's Avatar
tamarian tamarian is offline
Forum Founder
Posts: 19,506
 
Plan: Atkins/PP/BFL
Stats: 400/223/200 Male 5 ft 11
BF:37%/17%/12%
Progress: 89%
Location: Ottawa, ON
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigted
Hi Wa'il,

This is a cool tool and I like it. It's going to take some time entering my custom stuff but so far I like it.
I have a suggestion...is there anyway you can list the net carbs (as in Carbs minus Fibre) as that's my beef with fitday that I need to work that one out. I realize it's not hard math but I'm mathematically inept and it would be a big plus for me not to have to work that one out.
My apologies if it is already there and I missed it.

Thanks,

Steph


We do show the Effective Carb Count (ECC) as (carbs -fiber) in the search results.

However, in the daily view it may clutter the numbers, as it already lists 4 columns: carbs, protein, fat, fiber and calories.

The ECC is calculated and ready, and would be no big deal to show it, but the numbers may be too confusing, especially for members who don't know what it is, or those who don't subtract fiber.

There are a few options, though. The simplest would be to show a little hover/tooltip when you bring your mouse to the carbs cell, where it would show the ECC. But I think many may not find it.

The other option is to make it a selectable choice in the settings menu, so those who want to see it, will have an extra column showing ECC.

Wa'il
Reply With Quote
  #39   ^
Old Sun, Jan-23-05, 16:39
diemde's Avatar
diemde diemde is offline
Posts: 7,547
 
Plan: lower carb
Stats: 333/199.8/172 Female 5'8"
BF:??/39.0/25
Progress: 83%
Location: Central Ohio
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamarian
The other option is to make it a selectable choice in the settings menu, so those who want to see it, will have an extra column showing ECC.


I like this idea.
Reply With Quote
  #40   ^
Old Sun, Jan-23-05, 17:10
tamarian's Avatar
tamarian tamarian is offline
Forum Founder
Posts: 19,506
 
Plan: Atkins/PP/BFL
Stats: 400/223/200 Male 5 ft 11
BF:37%/17%/12%
Progress: 89%
Location: Ottawa, ON
Default

ECC is now available as a default, instead of Fiber. You can switch between ECC and Fiber by changing the settings in the "Edit Settings" menu.

Wa'il
Reply With Quote
  #41   ^
Old Sun, Jan-23-05, 17:36
bigted's Avatar
bigted bigted is offline
Beach Bum
Posts: 1,189
 
Plan: da Beach looking for Sun
Stats: 250/229.5/163 Female 5ft 5in
BF:not/ahot/clue
Progress: 24%
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Default

Thanks Wa'il, that really works for me, now I don't have to scramble for a calulator
Reply With Quote
  #42   ^
Old Mon, Jan-24-05, 17:15
bigted's Avatar
bigted bigted is offline
Beach Bum
Posts: 1,189
 
Plan: da Beach looking for Sun
Stats: 250/229.5/163 Female 5ft 5in
BF:not/ahot/clue
Progress: 24%
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Default

Hi Wa'il,

It could be my pain meds softening the brain but I am trying to enter a new food - alfredo sauce and it is measured in cups (or mls), not grams and I can't seem to figure out how to enter it without a weight. Am I missing something other than a brain?
Do I assume the mls measure and then enter it? As in enter 60mls as 60g or will that foul things up and give me the wrong information if I used a different quantity?

Thanks,

Steph
Reply With Quote
  #43   ^
Old Mon, Jan-24-05, 17:22
tamarian's Avatar
tamarian tamarian is offline
Forum Founder
Posts: 19,506
 
Plan: Atkins/PP/BFL
Stats: 400/223/200 Male 5 ft 11
BF:37%/17%/12%
Progress: 89%
Location: Ottawa, ON
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigted
Hi Wa'il,

It could be my pain meds softening the brain but I am trying to enter a new food - alfredo sauce and it is measured in cups (or mls), not grams and I can't seem to figure out how to enter it without a weight. Am I missing something other than a brain?
Do I assume the mls measure and then enter it? As in enter 60mls as 60g or will that foul things up and give me the wrong information if I used a different quantity?

Thanks,

Steph


Do you still have the label? It should state the weight, either in grams or ounces (the tool will soon allow ounces in addition to grams).

The reason it cannot accept cups, is that cups differ in weight. Acup of lettuce is much lighter than a cup of oil, etc.

You can still enter a cup, but the tool needs to know how much the cup weighs.

Wa'il
Reply With Quote
  #44   ^
Old Mon, Jan-24-05, 18:03
bigted's Avatar
bigted bigted is offline
Beach Bum
Posts: 1,189
 
Plan: da Beach looking for Sun
Stats: 250/229.5/163 Female 5ft 5in
BF:not/ahot/clue
Progress: 24%
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Default

Yes, I do have the label, but it only gives me two measures - both are volumes - 1/4 cup or 60mls. For now since I only use it in 1/4 cup units I've added it using 60mls as 60g.

PS I hate volume measures and I am much happier using weights must be my European childhood as I just don't like cups as a unit of measure.
Reply With Quote
  #45   ^
Old Tue, Jan-25-05, 21:33
diemde's Avatar
diemde diemde is offline
Posts: 7,547
 
Plan: lower carb
Stats: 333/199.8/172 Female 5'8"
BF:??/39.0/25
Progress: 83%
Location: Central Ohio
Default

Can you add a food category for vitamin & mineral supplements? thx.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50.


Copyright © 2000-2018 Active Low-Carber Forums @ forum.lowcarber.org
Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.