Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > Schwarzbein Principle
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Thu, Aug-23-07, 11:23

Plan: general low carb
Stats: 265/260/160 Female 70
BF:
Progress: 5%
Default questions about calculating carbs

hello! i am new to TSP. My doctor suggested it to me a few years ago, i did it for about two weeks and then my husband was shipped off to iraq. now, 3 years later, he's back and we have a beautiful 2 year old daughter. I recently decided to give TSP a try again because A. I feel like crap and i'm only 31, B. I have excess weight i need to get off and C. my sugar levels have always been on the extreme high end of "normal".

I am so glad I found a place that talks about TSP.

I have a question, in the book the Dr. says to not counts the carbs in non-starchy veggies and that we can eat as many of these that our body needs. does this work for you and is it always true? I'll for instance eat a 3-4 oz piece of chicken, with 1/2 cup of corn and then most times almost a whole can of green beans. should i still really not count the green beans? it just seems so weird to not count those as carbs.

Also, on atkins i know they subtract the fiber grams to get the true net carbs, do we do that on SP as well? i don't remember ever reading anything on that in the books.