Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > Schwarzbein Principle
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Fri, May-31-02, 20:06

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 143/138/120 Female 5 ft
BF:
Progress: 22%
Default Lactose Intolerant, having problems

Hello,

I've been doing the low carb thing off and on for two years now. I started with SugarBusters, but like Schwarzbein as well. She's a little less faddish, much more scientific, if that's a good reason.

I have dropped my cholesterol significantly. I was borderline high, but now within a good range on a total cholesterol. So, I believe in this way of eating for me -- the change in cholesterol with all the fats in the plan proved it to me.

But, the weight - that's the problem. I can't handle the cravings. I've always been a compulsive overeater. I don't binge, but I do overeat. I have a lot of stress in my life (severly disabled child and other things).

The other problem is that I am lactose intolerant. I can eat butter, light cream, yogurt, and hard cheeses. But, cottage cheese and other stuff is off limits. So, that makes many of the recepies difficult to follow and really limits what I eat.

Anyone else in this boat? What substitutions have you found that worked?

I am also a bread addict. It is so tough to shake that habit.