Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Local Low-Carbers & Support Groups > Canada
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Wed, Sep-29-04, 00:49

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 145/130/120 Female 175 centimeters
BF:
Progress: 60%
Question Reactions to Health Canada's new regulations?

Hi everyone,
My name is Hilda and I'm currently studying journalism in Ontario. I'm writing an assignment on peoples' reactions to the new Health Canada regulations banning low-carb claims on food labels. From reading the other thread on this topic, I can tell a lot of you are not too pleased about them, and for obvious reasons!
Besides being mad though, I'd like to know what you think the long-term effects of these regulations will be on the low-carb movement. Keep in mind that the rules don't ban low-carb foods from being sold, only how they're labelled/advertised. Do you think it will deter people from following low-carb diets, and that the number of people following low-carb diets will drop? Or do you think that people will just figure out how to read food labels and figure out what's low in carbs on their own? Do you think these regulations will negatively affect manufacturers of low-carb foods and the retailers will sell them?