Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Exercise Forums: Active Low-Carbers > Advanced/High Intensity
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Thu, Jul-25-02, 23:04
Pending Member

Plan: mix
Stats: 120/120/110
BF:
Progress: 0%
Default Question for Natrushka - BodyRX Cycles

Hi Natrushka,

I am very new with weight lifting and I have a question about BodyRX cycles.

I read the book and I see (besides the carb/fiber intake differences) that each cycle has different number of repetitions with different amount of rest in between. Cycle 1 is to get stronger and Cycle 3 is for burning fat. I am lowcarbing anyway, so I am not going to the high carb that Cycle 1 allows, but as far as the weight lifting part is concerned, what's the difference between doing fewer repetitions to failure with longer rest (Cycle1) and doing more repetitions to failure with shorter rest (Cycle3)?
Would doing more reps to failure with less rest work better in burning fat rather than making you stronger? I'm at this point just interested in losing weight (preferably fat) and toning.

I would greatly appreciate your comments on this.

Tomo
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Mon, Jul-29-02, 17:58

Plan: IF +LC
Stats: 287/165/165 Female 66"
BF:
Progress: 100%

Sorry Tomo, I missed this - combination of being away last week and being a little dizzy this weekend