Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > PCOS
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Tue, May-03-11, 14:16
Registered Member

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 152/137/128 Female 64
BF:
Progress: 63%
Default Low Carb "throw off" Glucose Testing?

I've been doing induction level low carb for a few months now. My endo wants me to do a glucose test and insulin test to see if I'm still insulin resistant. I know I am as I have to stay at induction level to maintain weight, headaches, hypoglycemic symptoms etc. However, now that I'm following very low carb, my symptoms have gone away. I'd like to be on metformin to assist me with my insulin resistance, but I fear that my current extreme (staying at 10 grams or less) will make it appear that I don't have any issues. I will always be low carb, but I'd like to be at a more manageable level WOE, not Eggs and Meat for the rest of my life.

Will eating very low carb cause me to "pass" the glucose test when I really do need the help. (I was making 3 times too much insulin in the past, and have managed that with low carbing very well, but I don't want my good habits to keep me from getting the help I need)
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Tue, May-03-11, 15:03
Experimenter

Plan: DDF
Stats: 202/185.4/179 Female 67
BF:
Progress: 72%