Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > New Members & Low-Carbers > Introduce Yourself
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Thu, Dec-29-11, 23:33

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 165/145/126 Female 5ft 4.5inches
BF:
Progress: 51%
Default Newbie

Hi
I'm relatively new to the concept of low carb but already a believer
Looking forward to lots of great information & friendly support
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Fri, Dec-30-11, 12:13

Plan: Protein Power
Stats: 213/167/165 Male 65 in.
BF:35%/23%/20%
Progress: 96%

Welcome to the forum, Stef. I suggest that you pick a specific LC plan to follow, then read the book for that plan (you'll have to look on the Primal Blueprint site for that diet's description). Otherwise, you'll be reading and getting contradictory suggestions and won't know which ones to pay attention to.

There's also two good posts in the Newbies' Questions section that will save from making a lot of newcomer mistakes. One bit of information that's not there (yet) is the importance (IMO) of setting a target body fat % rather than a target weight. The BF% statistic should determine your goal weight, not the other way around. Here's a web page that explains more about why you should set your BF% target first. You can start with this page; be sure to look at the age-adjusted chart for your gender.