Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > South Beach Diet
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Mon, Feb-16-04, 15:22

Plan: South Beach(Phase III)
Stats: 235/187/190 Male 6'
BF:
Progress: 107%
Default What I've learned about SBD - or - A SBD rant

I'm a newbie to the SBD WOE. I'm in Phase II on day 39. It looks like most of the folks visiting this SBD forum are newbies. There are a couple of 80 to 100 day SBD veterans but it seems that most people are in Phase I or have been in Phase II for a short period.

I am by no means an expert, but I thought I would share what I think I have learned and experienced so far...

1. I think that the SBD is really just a very healthy WOE and for the most part is information that I've known at some level for a long time. I wrestled in highschool more than 30 years ago and we all had to lose weight. The first thing we did after football season was cut out the sweets, potatoes, bread, etc. The coaches advised us to eat meat(steak), salad, and other veg. We almost always lost what we needed to in order to make weight. I can rember my grandparents talking about 'all those starches' causing weight gain when they were gossiping about friends and relatives.