Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > New Members & Low-Carbers > Newbies' Questions
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Wed, Feb-19-03, 03:45

Plan: Curves/Heavin
Stats: 284/268/140
BF:
Progress: 11%
Smile New! Anxious to begin... LOTS of Q's!

Hi everyone! I am brand new to this carb counting stuff. I recently joined Curves for Women. I got the book that Heavin wrote and thought I'd give carb counting a try. So far, I think I've lost some weight. But... I am confused about a few things. He suggests carbs of 20 or below for the first two weeks. Can I eat things from the Atkins diet... like their chocolate bars, drinks etc? Or are these items not for anyone else. Do you suggest reading Atkins book? I think the Heavin diet is really simillar except maybe for the last phase. Which talks about maintance. Also, some people have told me certain foods that are high in fiber do not count in the carb totals... is this true? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Wed, Feb-19-03, 05:11
Don't dream it be it

Plan: Low Carb
Stats: 292.4/272.0/165 Female 70 inches
BF:
Progress: 16%