Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > Semi Low-Carb Plans
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Mark Forums Read Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Mon, May-19-08, 07:34

Plan: modified South Beach
Stats: 200/191/130 Female 62 in
BF:
Progress:
Default just diagnosed as type 2 diabetic

I'm very new to trying to get my blood suger under control and it's clear to me that I need to eat fewer carbs. Even low glycemic index foods send my blood sugar up. If anyone has any advice or experience with this I'd appreciate some advice.
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Mon, May-19-08, 07:42

Plan: I'm a Barry Girl
Stats: 250/208/190 Female 72
BF:
Progress: 70%

The glycemic index can be confusing and misleading. Just count carbs. I stay under 60 a day (total, not net) and saved myself from high blood pressure and type 2 diabetes. I lost 40 pounds over the course of 1 year without being hungry or miserable. My blood pressure was 149/95 and now it is 101/62.

If you can, pick up a copy of Natural Health and Weight Loss by Barry Groves OR Protein Power Life Plan by Drs Eades. Another good book to help you understand the whole process involved with your body, insulin, hormones, etc.... is Good Calories Bad Calories by Gary Taubes.