Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Cholesterol, Heart Disease
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Wed, Apr-13-11, 17:09

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 143/141.2/125 Female 5' 2"
BF:
Progress:
Default Plavix

Hi I am a newbie. I am a 58 yr old woman. In 1999 had a stroke. In 2005 had 5-bypasses. In August 2010 had a stent, then in December had another stent put inside of that stent. Read some of the info on this forum about the statins which I agree are not so good for a person. What about plavix (blood thinner)? I am on that plus two asprin a day. At present I weigh 139 lbs at 5' 2". However all the extra weigh is in my stomach and waist. Started Atkins just 13 days ago lost down from 143lbs. Dr. said needed Plavix to keep the stent from clogging up again. As I am writing this just realized that was told that with the one I recieved in August, then what caused the next one in December? Scared and confussed!
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Wed, Apr-13-11, 18:15

Plan: Paleo-ish general LC
Stats: 151/119/118 Female 64 in
BF:
Progress: 97%

Well, my fiance just had a stent put in a couple of weeks ago after they found a blockage in one of the artery grafts (as in his bypass surgery) he had 11 years ago. Did your blockage develop inside one of your bypass grafts?