Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low-Carb Studies & Research / Media Watch > Low-Carb War Zone
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Tue, Dec-13-11, 09:37
Registered Member

Plan: custom
Stats: 196/191/175 Male 73"
BF:
Progress:
Default stalling, starvation mode, and water retention

First want to say that I'm new to low-carb dieting (only 3 weeks in), but I've read through a massive amount of information advocating both sides. While I know there are holes both in the science behind dieting and weight loss and in my own knowledge, I can't help but be bothered by this idea of stalling and starvation mode and the fact that the body will refuse to burn fat.

The problem I have is the laws of thermodynamics. While I know these laws are typically misused, but usually it's by the low-fat advocates who think that Calories IN = Calories OUT with 100% efficiency, and they don't even understand the concept of entropy and ignore the 2nd law completely.

I think its also misused when it comes to starvation mode, and Atkins stalling.

The problem I have with the idea of 'stalling' or starvation mode, is that a human being is able to retain the same amount of physical activity, yet burn almost no calories because they are in one of these two modes. I'm not a scientist but it sounds like a clear violation of thermodynamics.