Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > Protein Power
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Tue, Nov-01-05, 19:04

Plan: Carnivore
Stats: 212/179/160 Female 5'6"
BF:
Progress: 63%
Question Calling all PP Experts!

I'm confused. I've been LCing for about 6 years now, and it's always done well by me. Other than a few bumps along the way, I've been able to maintain in the low 150s for quite a long time.

Now, for no apparent reason, I'm gaining weight (166 at last look, probably at least 170 now). I'm keeping Fitday records, and they've been about 1500 calories a day, with usually around 120 grams or so of protein, around 20 to 30 grams of carbs, and the rest (good) fat.

I've had a series of thyroid tests recently, and there's probably a problem, but whether it's caused by thyroid or I have adrenal fatigue and it's affecting my thyroid, who knows.

OK, that aside.

People on this and other boards are telling me that by keeping my carbs so low for so long and my calories below "maintenance levels" for so long, it's caused both disorders. They keep saying I need carbs to convert T4 to T3 . . . or vice versa -- whatever, that's not the point here . . . what IS the point is that they say I need carbs.