Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > New Members & Low-Carbers > Introduce Yourself
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Wed, Jul-25-01, 08:37

Plan:
Stats: 335/228/140
BF:
Progress:
Default type 2 db - new to low carbing

i have been dieting off and on for the last 5 years. i lost about 75 lbs then about a year ago completly stalled.

i was diaged with type 2 db on 19 april 2001 while in emergency room because of pnemonia... bg was "over 400", after shooting me up with insulin, it came down to 287. they starting me on 5m glucotrol and told me to find a physician (which i did).

i immediately started researching and read up on the exchange diet - total calories of around 1500. i was on that for about 2 months and dropped 20 lbs. i then changed to diatician's recommendation of grms per day of 240c/60p/40f for cal count of 1600-1800. could not get my bg's under 140 on either diet, so my dr. put me on 10m of glucotrol and 500 glucophage. i also stalled in weight loss on diatician's diet.

started looking for alternatives and found much info on low carb. started following dr. bernstein's diabetes solution program beginning of july. i dropped another 7lbs (totalling 27lbs).