Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Success Stories
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

View comments Article tools
Our Success
Posted by toolman2
Posted Sun, Sep-26-04
Male 5feet 10 inches
Plan: Modified South Beach
Stats: 220/179/160
BF:
Progress:
Talking Our Success

My wife and I have been fighting near obesity for 20 years. We've lost a few pounds on traditional diets and of course put them back on with a few bonus pounds after the diets ended. Does that sound familiar? Ugh! This year right around the middle of June the wife had her annual physical and the doctor gave her the startling news, and frightening I might add, that she was on the verge of being diabetic, her cholesterol counts were in the stratosphere and her blood pressure was out of control. Does anyone need more of a wake-up call than that? I decided that this was the time to stop fooling around with DIETS and think about LIFESTYLE CHANGES. To digress a bit, I note that most of this site is devoted to Atkins, so I hope I'm not an Alien here, but I found the South Beach book a bit more appealing. We started the South Beach regimen about the middle of July. I must say that I enjoyed all the phase 1 food, though I didn't follow all the recipes to the letter. I did find that I slowly migrated away from the SB regimen and started, after much reading, to count carbs rat