Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > Dr.Bernstein & Diabetes
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Fri, Dec-05-08, 10:16

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 151/143/120 Female 154cm
BF:34%/32%/20%
Progress: 26%
Default Advice on starting?

Hi

I'm new here, so be nice!

I've been low-carbing for a couple of months now (for the second time...) and feeling great. I've lost about 7lb and all cravings have virtually vanished. I feel like I'm eating better and healthier than I have before - and enjoying it! The main benefit for me is the impact on my moods - the crankiness, mood swings and depression have improved miraculously, due mostly I guess to blood sugar control. I do not think I am diabetic, but given family history (see below) know I am particularly prone to it, and experience tells me I am very sensitive to blood sugar.

I've also been doing a lot of research about the health benefits of this diet and am totally sold on it. In particular, I've been thinking about how much this could potentially help my mother, whose health is in a pretty bad way. She has insulin controlled type 2 diabetes, angina/heart problems, kidney stones, and recently suffered a minor stroke. She is also very overweight and chronically depressed.