Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Exercise Forums: Active Low-Carbers > Beginner/Low Intensity
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Mon, May-05-14, 23:46

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 205/158/150 Male 71"
BF:
Progress: 85%
Default Don't do Cardio for weight loss? Books say...

hello,
I am new to low carving just by a few months.
one of the main shocking things I've read was that cardio isn't that helpful for weight loss.
I've read "Why We Get Fat" and "The Art and Science of Low Carb Performance" and they BOTH briefly mentioned that cardio is good for you, but not that helpful for weight loss. I don't have the books on me at the moment, but during both reads I felt like I didn't grasp the concept.
Can anyone help explain this... or direct me if there is already a thread on this matter?
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Tue, May-06-14, 03:10

Plan: AIP (autoimmune paleo)
Stats: 235/185/165 Female 5'5"
BF:
Progress: 71%

The basic point is that exercise makes you hungrier, and that the exercise itself doesn't burn off that many calories.

Both Taubes & Volek/Phinney are pro-exercise, and believe it has many benefits, it's just that both point out that weight loss isn't one of them.