Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > General Health
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Sat, Apr-23-16, 13:07

Plan: Atkins 20
Stats: 237.6/150/155 Female 5'9"
BF:
Progress: 106%
Default Downsides to low carb?

I am new to this (one month and 21 pounds in), and I am feeling great. But I am a cynic at heart, and experience has taught me that if something seems too good to be true, it probably is.

I am shocked that the medical establishment -- I have visited the CDC pages, the Diabetes Association, the Heart Association, etc -- seem to so completely misunderstand low carb, how to evaluate it, and even what is and isn't good for us to eat. Or they marginalize it, or damn it with faint praise.

So I'm wondering -- has anyone had any negative impacts from a low carb diet? I'm reading all the success stories, and can't wrap my mind around why, if this is so effective, it isn't mainstream? I know what the traditional literature says... (cholesterol bad, complex carbs good, fats will kill you ) -- but has anyone's health declined after being on low carb for a while?
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Sat, Apr-23-16, 13:09

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 189/148.6/145 Female 5' 5"
BF:36%/28%/25%
Progress: 92%