Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low-Carb Support Focus Groups > LC Parenting & Pregnancy
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Fri, Jun-20-08, 07:17

Plan: Plain Old LoCarb
Stats: 221/214.4/145 Female 5'4"
BF:
Progress: 9%
Default Moving kids to LC - "recommended carb level?"

Hi to all,

I'm an old LC vet, been on and of the wagon since I was about 15. So I know, by my own experience LC is safe for my kids 12 and 14. Both could do with losing weight. Oldest has about 30 lbs to loose and although the youngest is not overweight she is getting to close for my comfort.

My question for those of you with LC kids is what would be a good average carb level for them.

TIA,
Nora
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Fri, Jun-20-08, 08:54
greenshamr

Plan:
Stats: //
BF:
Progress:

How about just portion control, lean protein, a variety of non-starchy veggies and LC fruit --while ridding the house of junk food, soda, etc? Just a thought--

You may have resistance and feelings of discouragement if you approach them with a carb count without trying to make gradual changes first.
  #3   ^
Old Fri, Jun-20-08, 10:35

Plan: Atkins72/Paleo/NoGrain/IF
Stats: 285/220/200 Female 5 feet 5.5 inches
BF:
Progress: 76%