Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   General Health (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   KetoMojo 1.3mmol/L (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=480527)

ayeh Thu, Jun-14-18 17:43

KetoMojo 1.3mmol/L

Hi All,

I just did my first ketone blood strip test with my new KetoMojo and got a reading of 1.3mmol/L.

I'm a little confused by the result though:

1) Instructions say to seek medical assistance
2) Thomas DeLauer on Youtube says I'm in "light nutritional Ketosis"

So... Which is it?

GRB5111 Tue, Jun-19-18 20:59

According to the guidelines provided by Phinney and Volek, you are safely in the ketosis zone when the blood test measures from 0.5mm/L to 5.0mm/L. You are in ketosis. You don't need medical assistance, and I'm not a doctor.

Note that you can still be in ketosis when slightly below, and when slightly higher than the range, it is still in the safe range.

teaser Wed, Jun-20-18 09:17

If you were eating a high carb diet, and weren't fasting, that would be a diabetic insulin-failure level of ketosis. For somebody on a ketogenic diet--it's high enough to supply maybe 10-15 percent of your brain's energy requirements, I'd have to look it up to have higher certainty. So lightish ketosis is a good description.

Ms Arielle Wed, Jun-20-18 13:07

SOunds like these meters are designed for the diabetics, noteably the TYpe 1. If you were a type one and eating on plan, then a
high ketone reading would be a red flag indicating insulin is insufficient.

To drop excess adipose, ketosis is necessary to drop the pounds, but this is not a disease state.

GRB5111 Wed, Jun-20-18 16:15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms Arielle
SOunds like these meters are designed for the diabetics, noteably the TYpe 1. If you were a type one and eating on plan, then a
high ketone reading would be a red flag indicating insulin is insufficient.