PDA

View Full Version : Help W/ Fibre

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Psilocybin
Wed, Oct-16-02, 18:30
Alright, I'm new to this game, I'm only on day 2 but doing well. My only problem is fibre intake. All my life I've loved meats and hated veggies, and when I found out I could lose weight because of it I dove right in.
I had my mom shop for me (was going to go with her, but ended up having plans). She only picked up like 1/3 of what I asked for, as she was unsure of many things (even though she did Atkins years ago). So basically I'm living off mostly fish this weekend. I forgot my case of chicken, and the celery she did grab me (celery and potatoes are the only veggies I eat). So I'm lacking big time on fibre intake.
I went down to the health store, grabbed a thing of powdered psillium husks. She said it was flavourless, and oh boy is she wrong. You mix it with water and you get this syrup that gets thicker the longer you wait, almost like jello by the time its done. It has this strange taste that I just cant get past. So I dumped half a pack of sugarfree Koolaid in, and shook it up. That's at least drinkable, but still not something I'll enjoy drinking.
So I'm wondering what good sources of fibre are? Like I was hoping to make some sort of breading for cooking fish in, so mixed the powder with egg and all I got was this big ball of dough :(
I'll definately grab more supplies when I'm home this weekend. But I still need some ideas. I grabbed Keto bread mix, so I'm gonna make that up. But its still not that great for fibre, so can I dump some of this powder in it/ Or will that just fuck it up?

Lisa N
Wed, Oct-16-02, 18:57
Well....