PDA

View Full Version : How low is too low?

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

bbarkow
Mon, Aug-05-02, 08:55
Hi all,

I'm new to LC and I have a question about blood sugar. Hope some of the experts here can help.

I have type II and have been on glucophage for about 6 months. Began Atkins on July 27 (after being warned against it by my doctor - I'm in for it when I go back in November).

Anyway, after reading in Atkins that the diet would stabilize blood sugar, I stopped taking the glucophage. I've been checking my sugars three or four times a day and I'm getting low readings consistently. About an hour after eating I show about 85. After exercising I show 65-70. Last night, however, I got a reading of 58 after exercising.

How low is dangerous? I'm in induction, so I'm eating under 20 grams of carb per day. All low-glycemic.

Thanks,
Brent

doreen T
Wed, Aug-07-02, 03:47
hi Brent,

Blood sugars below 70 are too low. Ideally, you want to keep your sugars around 90. What is your fasting sugar, first thing in the morning?