PDA

View Full Version : The sunshine is bad for you - and other health myths

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Demi
Tue, Oct-08-13, 02:19
Not low per se, but an interesting article by Michael Mosley, author of The Fast Diet, the secret of 5:2 intermittent fasting, and also presenter of the BBC2 Horizon documentary Eat, Fast & Live Longer, the BBC documentary The Truth About Exercise, both of which were featured in this forum, and the new BBC2 programme, Trust Me I'm A Doctor (http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p01dgd9c), which starts on Thursday evening.

From The Times
London, UK
7 September, 2013

The sunshine is bad for you - and other health myths

1. Drinking coffee is bad for you

There have been numerous claims down the years that drinking coffee will increase your risk of succumbing to a whole range of terrible things. These claims, like the ones about the benefits of fruit and vegetables, have been based largely on retrospective case studies.

When scientists observed 130,000 men and women for more than 20 years they found something altogether more surprising. The report, The Relationship of Coffee Consumption with Mortality, which was published in the Annals of Internal Medicine, concluded that “regular coffee consumption was not associated with an increased mortality rate in either men or women”. In fact, what they found was that moderate coffee consumption appears to be mildly protective.

Based on this and other studies the most effective “dose” is two to five cups a day. More than that and any benefits drop off. What it is in coffee that helps, we simply don’t know.