PDA

View Full Version : are you taking the generic gluc or not?

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

VickiP
Mon, Apr-29-02, 17:17
I have heard some reason talk that the generic glucophage (metaformin) for some reason is not working. I have heard actually many accounts of being on glucophage and having a good experience with it, and then switching to the metaformin and gaining weight back and breaking out, etc.
What kind are you on and what have been your experiences!
Thanks!
Tori
P.S. I have been on the met and had no luck!

VickiP
Mon, Apr-29-02, 17:18
It is not supposed to say reason talk, it is supposed to say recent talk. I'm an engineer, and my english skills are lacking a little! sorry :)

clodagh
Thu, May-02-02, 02:27
I'm confused.

I thought Metformin was simply a brand name for glucophage?

Clodagh

VickiP
Thu, May-02-02, 15:18
Metaformin is the generic brand of glucophage. Usually, generics are fine to have, but in some medications, generic brands are not as good. I have heard in a few places that Metaformin is not as good as glucophage.

moniquej8
Sun, Jun-30-02, 14:25
Metformin HCl is the generic form of Bristol-Myers Squibb's Glucophage. I have been on Glucophage xr for 3 months and have never had any side effects and feel batter than ever! I have lost weight and have tons of energy. Cycles are getting back to norm.
Monique :)

dece
Sun, Jul-07-02, 17:12
Monique,

Did you use the Met along with a LC diet and getting back to normal or just the Met? My best friend has PCOS and is on the Met, and she's about to go on Clomid (she's trying to get PG). I'm wondering if a LC diet could help the PCOS as well.

Dece in AZ

moniquej8
Tue, Jul-09-02, 23:53