PDA

View Full Version : new to forum, my story

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

lauralynn
Sun, Mar-24-02, 22:36
Hi! I am new to this web site/forum. Just wanted to share my quick story. I was a classic PCOS - overweight, acne, infertile, grossly irregular menstruation, mild hirsutism, etc. My doctor basically told me that PCOS is just something you live with...never mentioned meds (metformin,etc), diet, or any other possible treatment. Meanwhile, a relative told me about Protein Power (Eades). I started on it just hoping to lose some weight. At that point, I had no clue that it could help my PCOS. But after being on Protein Power just a few short months...not only did I lose weight but my acne went away and my menstrual periods became regular and normal !! I was thrilled and still am!! I have just been doing Protein Power "maitenance" for a couple years now. And I have maintained (kept off) most of my original weight loss. However, I should lose more weight. I still should lose about 15 more pounds to be my healthy weight. So, I have now started back into "phase one " of Protein Power.

It is hard (after being used to the freedom of maintenance) to be in strict phase one. I also hope it works!! One reason I went into "maintenance" is that I plateued with the weight loss. I stoped losing weight and got discouraged... so I just sordof gave up! Now I want to try again and want to lose 15 pounds! Anyone else have "plateau" problems?? I tried everything back then but could not seem to get over the plateau. ( I tried going back into strict phase one, excercised more - but it did not work.)