PDA

View Full Version : HOW DO I EAT?? wen Im hypo

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

SweetLoren
Wed, Mar-13-02, 15:09
My throid is very slow im taking 30 grains of armour and cant loose,.....can someone thats experienced tell me what I should eat, how many calories...and all that other info i need 2 loos weight plz!! thank you !!....
*~LORENA*~

shaz
Tue, Apr-09-02, 15:56
Hi Lorena,
Im not experienced with low carbing but I do have experience of being hypo, and I noticed that you never got any other replies to your post.

I was having a fairly good response from doing Atkins - 4 pounds first week then 2 the second and another 1 the third, but then things went downhill for me when I came down with some bugs and stopped doing it for a while.

People who are hypo are supposed to do really badly with carbs, so plans like Atkins are meant to be good for us - certainly I had better success with it than any other method, but it will be much slower going than for people without thyroid problems.

I also don't have any experience with Armour - they don't do it in the UK as far as I am aware. I am on 100mg Thyroxin (synthroid) and we are supposed to follow a specific routine to get the most out of the dosage:

Don't eat within 1 hour of taking medication.
Don't take iron supplements or fortified orange juice or calcium within 2 hours of taking thyroid meds.

This means that I usually take the meds as soon as I get up, have breakfast an hour later and a cup of tea an hour after that.

You might want to check if there are similar recommendations for Armour.

How are things going with you?

Shaz

SweetLoren
Tue, Apr-09-02, 16:36