PDA

View Full Version : Ketosis & Weight Loss vs calorie consumption

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Banana
Mon, Mar-11-02, 01:49
Hi there,

This is my first time starting off a new thread and I must say a little scary, wondering if anyone will reply or think my questions daft or already answered somewhere!!!

I started off really well and lost 8 lbs in the first two weeks of my induction, actually most of that came off in the first week actually. I'm now at about week 6 and I have lost a total of 11-12 lbs, which I know is a lot but not when you take the first 8 lbs away from the beginning. I seem to be hovering between 10st2 and 10st3 for the past 2 weeks ( which I'm not knocking as I haven't be there for about 7 years! since having my three lovely kiddies actually!

I know I am still in ketosis as I've tried the strips twice, and seem to always have that tang in my mouth. But is it possible to be in ketosis and NOT loose weight because your overall calorie/fat consumption is too high? I thought ketosis meant automatic loss? Help me out, dispel any bad theories that I may have misunderstood from our mate Dr Atkins.

I don't really want to do the fat fast yet as I think the vits from the greens are very important and don't want to rattle from taking too many pills!!!!! :D

:wave:
Thanks all, hope to speak to someone soon!
(PS it's a great diet isn't it, all my friends can't believe it, and some actually disapprove, but that's because they don't really understand it I suppose)

Daschnook
Mon, Mar-11-02, 03:15
Hi Banana

I cant really give you any answers as to the difference between ketosis and fat loss.