PDA

View Full Version : Treating PCOS

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Cassie_01
Sun, Mar-04-07, 22:27
Hi all,
Im new to the PCOS forum and thought I would say Hi to everyone. I have been reading over some posts and they truley are heart-renching. Having PCOS is a big deal and I think extremely debilitating both physically and emotionally. I have been LCing for a while now to try and reduce the symptoms. It worked very well a few years ago when I was on the pill. I got down to my goal weight of 60kg, the hair and acne went away and I soooo happy. I was not longer sensitive to sugar and finally feeling in control.
I decided to go off the pill in july last year. Since then, my period has been quite irregular. I started seeing a naturopath to help me get them back on track. I managed to have four in a row from sept to dec, but I missed january and its been well over 60days since my last period.
I made a decision about a week or more ago to really fight this! I am so sick of the symptoms (since going off the pill, my acne and hair came back, I put on weight, I had dizzy spells all the time and my moods were all over the place) and am totally scared of what could happen in future. I so desperately want everything to go back to normal because I want to have babies in a few years (im 24 in 1 month).
So, I started Atkins lat week and have lost 4.4 pounds and really never left better. My concentration level is great, my acne has reduced and so has the hair (well, just a little). Im now 8kg away from my goal weight (well 8-10kg as Id prefer to be 58, but we-ll see).
I am also seeing a chinese doctor and currently taking herbs and having acupuncture once per week.