PDA

View Full Version : Having a hard time

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

oboegal
Mon, Jan-07-02, 09:36
Hey all. I'm currently a college student, and my mother and boyfriend want me to go on the Atkins Diet. My mom has lost 40 lbs on it, and my bf lost 70. I live on campus at Ball State University, so I don't know if it's possible for me to be able to avoid carbs. All they serve here is bread and pasta and very little meat. I really want and need to lose wieght, (I'm 5ft, weighing 175) but I just don't know if it's possible as a college student dependent on a college mealplan. Any insight into this problem?

Marlaine
Mon, Jan-07-02, 10:21
Are you totally dependent on cafeteria type meals? Is it possible for you to supplement with protein you purchase outside of the university?

Marlaine

alto
Mon, Jan-07-02, 10:41
Welcome, oboegal. It is tough at college -- that's why so many students are the (not) proud owners of the Freshmen Fifteen! Even with salad bars, the tuna or chicken salad may be loaded with carbs.

I have two suggestions. The first is to talk about this with your mother, since she's low carb-aware. You can go over the choices with her and she may have some ideas or options. (And is your bf also a student? You could ask what he's doing.) The second is to go to your school nutritionist, if there is one. Perhaps you can start a student movement -- more meat. Diabetics need high protein meals, too. You might be able to push for better nutrition.

Sorry I don't have a quick fix for you. There's probably bacon and eggs available at breakfast, so that's a start. Good luck!

razzle
Mon, Jan-07-02, 20:47