PDA

View Full Version : side effects for LC diet

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

u831628
Wed, Mar-01-06, 22:31
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie for the LC diet because my fibromialgia support group suggested me to try it to control my symptoms according to Dr. St Amond's hypoglycemia theory in his book. However I do have questions though. Since last Saturday I tried LC diet, I have been eating lots of high protein food including meat, seafood, milk, cheese...etc. I heard that eating high protein food may increase uric acid, predisposing people to have gout and pain on joints. Also I heard that high protein diet may lead to osteroporosis, which I already have, and kidney problems, which I had when I was young. Anyway, could anybody tell me if these are true. If it is, how can I reduce both carbohydrate and protein? Thank you very much.

Jeanie

danabear
Wed, Mar-01-06, 22:39
I have FMS and allergies- I've notice a drop in both problems since starting low carb. As with anything, extremes probably aren't going to work for you, as we FMS'ers tend to be sensitive to changes. I use the rule from the animal, as in meat or dairy(in small amounts), and from the ground. No processed food, I've avoided grains but had some fruit, just a little. Someone else said eat the leaves & stems, avoid roots and fruits. Easy enough. When I've strayed, which I have more than I'd like to admit, the symptoms return. I think eating lc helps with the autoimmune diseases a lot.

ProfGumby
Wed, Mar-01-06, 22:52
First off welcome to the LC Forums!

Second, I have to ask, Have you read Dr Atkins New Diet Revolution?