PDA

View Full Version : Time Frame

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

GosnellGrl
Wed, Dec-26-01, 15:35
Hello,
I am new to the low Carb way of life. i just started today and was wondering about how long it will take for me to lose 30 lbs?

tamarian
Wed, Dec-26-01, 15:53
Originally posted by GosnellGrl
Hello,
I am new to the low Carb way of life. i just started today and was wondering about how long it will take for me to lose 30 lbs?

Welcome aboard Gosnell.

No one can answer this question, as it would depend on so many factors. Age, body fat ratio, lean body mass, metabolism, previous dieting habits, current methods, activity level, among other things including genetic factors.

Best thing is to just do it, for you health and well being, and accept the improvements as they happen.

Wa'il

Natrushka
Wed, Dec-26-01, 16:18
If you're not adverse to losing an arm or leg it could take minutes ;)

In all seriousness there are many things that will effect your rate of loss. Have you ever yo-yo dieted? Are you on any medications? Do you exercise? Are you eating enough to sustain a fat loss? How much water are you drinking? How much weight do you have to lose?

Women can safely lose 2 lbs of body fat a week; men 3 lbs. When starting out you'll lose more scale weight than 2 lbs, typically, but less than 2lbs will be fat, most of what you see reflected on the scale will be excess water.