PDA

View Full Version : Depression (celexa) and the diet

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

torontogal
Mon, Nov-19-01, 11:10
I'm fairly new to low-carb dieting and did read the atkins book. It says to go off anti-depressants if you can in order to lose weight. On the other hand those in the field of depression urge against this if the medication has worked and you are in the maintenance period.

I'm taking 40mg of Celexa in the mornings. I will be on it for another 5 months, but would still like to lose weight.

Suggestions? Information? Help Please.

TG

itsjoyful
Mon, Nov-19-01, 11:30
hi! and welcome :)
I'm replying to your post with much apprehension because I don't know any of your history. to answer the question, i would not go off your meds.
a few thoughts and questions:
talk to your Dr. about it. he will let you know what he thinks is best for you.
have you been taking the meds while you lost the 5lbs? if so, I wouldn't even consider going off, because this woe works for you on your meds.
get some more information about your ideal goal weight. this is something I have just discovered. I've been striving for 115, and my body, at its peak healthiest, is between 129-139.
is your goal to be healthy or thin? yes, they do go hand in hand, but the image put out in the media is not everyone's ideal weight.
I hope you take this as someone who's been where you are. I hope this helps and please post often!
brenda

torontogal
Mon, Nov-19-01, 11:41