View Full Version : WeightLoss4Idiots.com?
Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!
skyspinner
Wed, Oct-27-04, 00:01
No, I'm not saying anyone is an idiot....it's just the name of a website that's advertising up at the top of the page there....."lose 9 pounds in 11 days" or something along those lines. Thought it must be good if they let them advertise here, right?
I took a look and I'm puzzled.....apparently they want you to buy their book (novel approach!), and you change up your diet every few days.
Has anybody tried this, does it work, is it worth the moola?
Thanks!
Vitafly
Wed, Oct-27-04, 04:18
I've never heard about them.
I believe some people would never try their diet, just because of the title "for idiots" :) Do they mean those who purcase their book are idiots? Just funny, this may be some advertising trick. What are their sales I wonder?
skyspinner
Wed, Oct-27-04, 09:55
Surely you've heard of all the "For Idiots" books published to address anything from housework to computer programming? I don't believe it means anything more than "this is really, really simple". :lol:
Have no way of evaluating their sales.
Has anyone else had any experience w/ this plan? There is a link to their site on the forum's Home page.....please take a look and let me know what you think.
It seems to involve changing what you eat every few days, to keep your body reacting to new conditions, and there's a three-day resting period where you eat anything at all.
Just wondering if it's worth the money! :agree:
cs_carver
Wed, Oct-27-04, 13:05
1. Many of us are pretty damn sure that Atkins is NOT a starvation diet. Given that the site claims it is, I am instantly hesitant to believe any of their other claims.
2. It's perhaps possible to lose 9 # in eleven days, but it's not possible to sustain that level of weight loss for much longer. No matter what you do to your metabolism, you still have to burn more than you eat, and that's burning 32000 calories more than you eat every two weeks, give or take.
3. They don't appear to be actually associated with the "for Idiots" or the "for Dummies" book series, or else they would have claimed so before asking for your money. They are trading off the brand name by using the "4idiots" version, which is another reason to be suspicious.
4. I don't know how well this Atkins site "vets" potential advertisers, besides making sure their money is good. You might write to one of the moderators. That said, I didn't see the ad myself and only found it by looking on Google, so maybe they're already yanked it.
skyspinner
Thu, Oct-28-04, 19:47
Good points, all of 'em. But the ad is still here, it says "Lose 9 pounds in 11 Days" and I don't have any idea why the forum would advertise this if they though it was not good.
What I'm still searching for, though, is the folks who have actually tried this. Anybody????? :)
Thanks in advance.....
Galadriell
Thu, Oct-28-04, 20:24
Only one remark from a consumer advocate. Please be very careful to order anything from a site where the only contact info is a suite in an office building. No phone, no e-mail hm.... The website was created this July, so I do not think you will find thousands of success stories... Similar way with 30 lbs/30 days without cutting back carbs, etc.
Here you can find a feedback site to ask about the advertising policy:
http://www.lowcarb.ca/feedback.html
doreen T
Thu, Oct-28-04, 21:15
Good points, all of 'em. But the ad is still here, it says "Lose 9 pounds in 11 Days" and I don't have any idea why the forum would advertise this if they though it was not good.
hi there,
Actually, the Google ads are auto-generated by keywords that are on the page you're viewing. Not everyone will see the same ads, since they're also targeted to region of the reader .. viewers in the UK will see different ads than those in US or Australia, etc. Specific urls can be blocked from having their ads show if we get a complaint, but it's impossible to filter every single ad.
For folks who are interested, subscribing members (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=139) can enjoy the forum without any ads.
hth :rose:
Doreen
CherylAust
Thu, Nov-18-04, 06:45
I did take a look at this site and noticed first page in they give low-carb a serving and say it doesn't work. That basically only their way works. Turned me straight off.
cs_carver
Thu, Nov-18-04, 07:21
Someone else asked about this site a while ago, thinking it was represented by the "for idiots" book series. No indication of that, although the website is clearly trading on the value of the name. They can get away with it because they use "4 idiots" instead. I thought it all looked pretty bogus, too.
keyone
Sat, Dec-04-04, 21:24
> Good points, all of 'em. But the ad is still here, it says "Lose 9 pounds in 11
> Days" and I don't have any idea why the forum would advertise this if they
> though it was not good.
The link to "Lose 9 pounds in 11 Days" is an advertisement. The ads in the top of this web page are Google Ads. A website owner does not have control over what ads are placed there (google's bot decides). However, the website owner can add a URL to an exclusion list in their Google Ad account, to block certain ads from showing, if they are offensive or competing.
I know this because I run a diet website with google ads myself, and their ad is appearing on my site, too. That's how I found this forum... I was doing searches because I was curious what other people were saying about this diet plan. It must be a new site because I couldn't find any reviews or posts on other sites or in newsgroups by people saying they'd done the plan and what they thought of it.
littletexa
Fri, Jan-28-05, 11:29
Boy I wish it WERE true! I remember centuries ago when I was in high school, there was a diet around where you could lose about 5 pounds in 3 days eating eggs, ice cream and hamburgers (without the buns). It actually did work, but didn't last (the weight loss, I mean). This one too had "buffer days" where you HAD to go off it (let's face it, eggs, ice cream & hamburgers alone do not nutrition make!).
Really would like to chat with someone who's actually tried this weight loss 4 idiots thing though.
Makes me nervous that they have NO email, NO address, and a google search of their company name (Internet Made Simple) brings up so many hits there's no WAY to wade through them all to find the actual company.
I'll keep watching here in hopes that someone has the real skinny (sorry, couldn't resist! :D
doreen T
Fri, Jan-28-05, 13:45
.... Really would like to chat with someone who's actually tried this weight loss 4 idiots thing though.
Makes me nervous that they have NO email, NO address, and a google search of their company name (Internet Made Simple) brings up so many hits there's no WAY to wade through them all to find the actual company.
I'll keep watching here in hopes that someone has the real skinny (sorry, couldn't resist! :D
hi there,
The Weightloss4Idiots link doesn't show in our Gooogle ad banners any more. As well, we don't support proprietary plans on our forums because the details are highly individualized, and only available privately to those who pay. From the sounds of it, you're right to be skeptical! :exclm:
I noticed in your other post, you mentioned that you're not sure which lowcarb plan to follow. Have a read through the Plan Comparisons (http://www.lowcarb.ca/atkins-diet-and-low-carb-plans/), which are reviews of some popular lowcarb programs, written by forum members. You just might discover what you're looking for! :idea:
Just an added note re - your signature, which has been removed. Please review the Signature Guidelines (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?p=1849687#post1849687) for information regarding content.
Good luck to you, and happy lowcarbing :rose:
Doreen
littletexa
Fri, Jan-28-05, 16:15
Have been looking through the plan comparisons, but haven't yet made a final choice. Like everyone, I would like to lose weight painlessly, quickly and permanently! :)
skyspinner
Sun, Feb-13-05, 08:00
> I run a diet website
:wave:
Would you share the URL w/ me privately? I'm curious to see what you've put on it. :) I DO take PMs.
Thanks!
skyspinner
Sat, Apr-30-05, 11:14
Well, good luck to all of us! :agree:
Take care,
sky
KryssiMc
Sat, Apr-30-05, 12:16
Actually, there is a book called LowCarb for Dummies. I saw it at Barnes and Noble last week. Didn't read any of it though.
Copyright 2000-2009 Active Low-Carber Forums @ forum.lowcarber.org
vBulletin, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.