PDA

View Full Version : Rachelle's Story

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Rachelle
Mon, May-31-04, 19:07
I started Atkin's in July of 2003.

I had never been on a true "diet" before starting Atkin's the summer of '03.
I was very active during High School (soccer and volleyball player) I would eat just about anything I wanted and would stay pretty fit.
When I graduated from Highschool I began to work in a bar environment and got into some very heavy drug use and began drinking regularly.
Needless to say certain drugs will speed up your metabolism... which is what happened for me. I lost down to about 105lbs. and maintained there. I was not healthy and I'm sure lost a lot of muscle along with fat. I continued on that path for about 2 yrs maybe a bit longer.

I finally decided to better my life and I gave up drugs. Which was very hard for me. Along with that being hard in itself.. I also began to gain weight very rapidly. I went up to about 155-160lbs. within about a 6 month period of time. I went from a size 0/3 to a size 14/16. I was devistated, as I had not changed my eating habits at all...

I tried not eating/ starvation..
I tried low-fat..
I tried Slim fast (LOL)

I was so frustrated that nothing seemed to work.. I even considered going back to my old routine (cocaine & eating once every 3 days)
I knew that was not the answer... i wanted something better for my life.

I then started hearing about Atkin's from a co-worker. She gave me the book and I began to read it. We did the buddy system and both started the Induction phase of the program.