PDA

View Full Version : I am new to the Kick Nic Club!

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

mel92
Wed, Mar-03-04, 06:58
Ok, where to start off... On March 11, 2002 I quit smoking for the first time in 12 years. I stayed quit for exactly 1 year and 4 months, AND had a baby during that time, until I had my debilitating cluster headaches return. I have now been smoking again for 7 months, that is, until last night. :wiggle: I read on here about someone who purchased the Smoke Away kit, and after talking it over with my husband, went out and bought it. My last cig was at 9pm last night, and I am happy to report, so far so good! It's weird, my cravings last for about 20 seconds, followed by complete calmness. This is absolutely wonderful, because when I try and quit cold turkey I get nasty anxiety attacks. WooHoo! It still takes some effort though because smoking is on my mind, but I try and find other stuff to do to occupy my time. Anyway, I will write more through the first day, and so on. Hopefully someone else can benefit of my experience.

Smoke free 10 hours and counting!!

:)melissa

toning_up
Thu, Mar-04-04, 05:23
Good for you Melissa! I am the SmokeAway person. I have definately found it the best way to quit. I really don't know what all those supplements did but they certainly seemed to have a calming effect. I ended up never using the Phase 2 pills because I just didn't feel I needed them.

I'm now a month out from quitting and the only time I even think of smoking now if the two times I've had a glass of wine with my husband. But with nothing in the house it was easy to resist the temptation and really, they were very mild cravings.